What is a DRM Reset and How to Perform a DRM Reset on any Smartphone

DRM License is an abbreviation for Digital Rights Management license. A DRM license is a set of technological procedures(Encryptions) used by digital content creators to prevent illegal distribution of their digital content(Piracy).

Whenever you purchase a copyright protected digital product like a paid App, Game, Ebook, Music, Video, then a DRM License is downloaded on your phone or computer along with the product.

The DRM License of that downloaded product connects to the Internet in order to check if you have purchased that product legitimately or if it is Pirated.

If this check is successful, then you will get access to that Digital Product. If the check fails, then you will get an error and your access to the product will be denied.

What is a DRM Reset and When Should You Do It?

A DRM License Reset deletes all the DRM Licenses that are stored on your smartphone or computer.

This prevents all your purchased digital products from connecting to the Internet to check if the purchase is legitimate or not.

You should do a DRM Reset only when you’re selling your Phone or Computer.

This makes sure that no one else has access to the digital product you purchased with your credentials and prevents misuse and illegal distribution of the product.

What Happens When You Reset DRM Licenses?

After a successful DRM License Reset, you can no longer access the digital products you purchased.

If you want to use any of those products again, then you will have to repurchase the products.

After repurchasing, a new DRM License will be automatically downloaded to your phone or computer.

DRM Reset vs Factory Reset: What’s the difference?

A DRM Reset deletes all the DRM Licenses of every single purchased digital product present on your phone or computer. This doesn’t affect any other files and user data.

Whereas a Factory Reset permanently deletes almost all the data that is stored on your phone or computer. This includes all files like downloaded apps, photos, videos, games, etc and all user data including messages, DRM Licenses, contacts, stored passwords, etc.

How to do a DRM Reset on Apple iPhone?

Step 1: Go to “Settings” and scroll down until you find the “General” option. This option is right below the “Do not Disturb” option.

Step 2: Click on General and scroll down to the bottom until you find the “Reset” option.

Step 3: Click on Reset and you’ll find the “DRM Reset” option.

Step 4: Click DRM Reset and this will open another option for DRM Reset which mentions “Deletes all DRM Licenses”.

Step 5: Click on this DRM Reset option and this opens a dialogue box saying “This Operation will delete all the licenses on this device. Continue?” You have two options “OK” and “Cancel”.

Step 6: Click on “OK” and all your licenses will be deleted successfully.

You can follow the instructions in the video below for a better understanding.

How to do a DRM Reset on Android Phones?

Step 1: Go to “Settings” and scroll down until you find the “Backup and Reset” option. Click on Backup and Reset.

Step 2: Next, click on the DRM Reset option. This will open another DRM Reset Option. Click on this option.

Step 3: You’ll get a dialogue box saying, “This operation will delete all licenses on this device. Continue?” You have two options “OK” and “Cancel”.

Step 4: Click on “OK” and all your licenses will be deleted successfully.

Here is a video to reset DRM on Micromax Canvas 6. This works for almost all the Android Devices out there except a slight difference in some brands like Samsung which are considered as one of the best smartphones out there.

How to do a DRM Reset on Samsung Phones?

Step 1: Go to “Settings” and scroll down until you find the “General Management” option.

Step 2: Click on General Management and scroll down to the bottom until you find the “Reset” option.

Step 3: Click on Reset and you’ll find the “DRM Reset” option.

Step 4: Click DRM Reset and this will open another option for DRM Reset which mentions “Deletes all DRM Licenses”.

Step 5: Click on this DRM Reset option. A dialogue box will open mentioning “This Operation will delete all the licenses on this device. Continue?” You have two options “Delete All” and “Cancel”.

Step 6: Click on “Delete All” and all your licenses will be deleted successfully.

Is DRM Reset Good or Bad?

Performing a DRM Reset is not recommended and this is definitely something you should avoid.

You can lose all access to your paid digital products, so do this only if you are selling your smartphone.

Conclusion

A DRM Reset removes all your DRM licenses stored in your Smartphone or PC. This will remove all access to any purchased copyright protected digital product.

You should do this only if you’re selling your smartphone or PC so that no other person has access to your digital products. You shouldn’t perform a DRM Reset in any other case.

1 thought on “What is a DRM Reset and How to Perform a DRM Reset on any Smartphone”

  1. I have had some serious malfunctions in and to my own photos taken with my phone that I purchased own camera……me my own stuff and mosaics to which I made other photos out of….I believe that your licenses were on my phone as my phone is and has been intercepted by greedy fuckoffs.. I can obtain a lawyer for your area. Cudo’s and thank you for your time and help.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.